Scientific Committee


Prof. Jan Rossmeisl, Chair
Jan Rossmeisl is Professor of theoretical chemistry at Department of Chemistry and the Nano-Science center at Copenhagen University. Before joining University of Copenhagen in April 2015, Jan was an Associate Professor and group leader for the theoretical catalysis group at Department of Physics at the Technical University of Denmark Jan holds master's (2000) and Ph.D (2004) degrees in physics from the Technical University of Denmark.
Since 2007 supervisor of more than 25 Ph.D and Post docs.
Coauthor of more than 130 publications in peer reviewed journals, co-inventor of 5 patents and co-founder of startup companies/ RESEARCH INTEREST includes: electrocatalysis, energy conversion, atomic scale simulations, rational interface design for catalysis.







Dr. Klaas Jan Schouten
Dr. Klaas Jan Schouten obtained his MSc Cum Laude in 2009 from Leiden University. He continued with Prof. Marc Koper for a PhD project on electrochemical CO2 reduction. His thesis has been awarded with the Dutch Catalysis Society Award 2015 and the European Federation of Catalysis Societies (EFCATS) Best PhD Thesis Award 2015. At the moment he is working at Avantium, where he started as a Project Leader of several projects on electrochemistry. As a Program Manager he is now responsible for the content-related management of all projects in Avantium’s electrochemistry research program, which is focused on developing new routes and processes using electrochemistry to produce high value products from CO2 and from feedstocks and products in a bio refinery.




Chunmiao Ye
(University Leiden)

Paulina Pršlja

Noor Hossain
(Aalto University)

Emanuele Instuli

Rebecca Pittkowski