Supervisory Board



Dr. Petr Krtil
Petr Krtil is a senior scientist and head of Electrocatalysis group at the J. Heyrovsky of the Physical Chemistry, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic in Prague. He received his PhD degree in Physical Chemistry at the J. Heyrovsky Institute in 1993 and spent several years as postdoctoral associate at the State University of New York in Buffalo (USA) and Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan). He re-joined the J. Heyrovsky Institute in 1999. His main research interests are in fundamental aspects of energy related electrochemical application namely material aspects of electrode material design for batteries and electrocatalytic applications.


Prof. Marc Koper
Marc Koper is Professor of Surface Chemistry and Catalysis at Leiden University, The Netherlands. He received his PhD degree (1994) from Utrecht University (The Netherlands). He was an EU Marie Curie postdoctoral fellow at the University of Ulm (Germany) and a Fellow of Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) at Eindhoven University of Technology, before moving to Leiden University in 2005. His main research interests are in fundamental aspects of electrocatalysis, theoretical electrochemistry, and electrochemical surface science.










Prof. Nuria Lopez
Prof. Nuria Lopez is the group leader in the field of materials simulations at the Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia, ICIQ, which belongs to The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology. Prof. Lopez has published around 150 works in the areas of chemistry, physics, and materials science with a particular focus on the study of catalytic properties. She received an ERC Starting Grant in 2010, and she belongs to the Steering Scientific committee of PRACE (the European supercomputation initiative). Her group has established several collaborations with different industries.









Prof. Tanja Kallio
Dr. Tanja Kallio is an Associate Professor at the Aalto University School of Chemical Engineering. She received a D.Sc.(Eng.) degree on Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry from the Helsinki University of Technology in the year 2003. She has published some ninety journal articles on electrochemical energy conversion and storage. Her publications related to electrocatalyst materials reflect her research interest in polymer electrolyte fuel cells and water electrolysers.



Prof. Jan Rossmeisl
Jan Rossmeisl is Professor of theoretical chemistry at Department of Chemistry and the Nano-Science center at Copenhagen University. Before joining University of Copenhagen in April 2015, Jan was an Associate Professor and group leader for the theoretical catalysis group at Department of Physics at the Technical University of Denmark Jan holds master's (2000) and Ph.D (2004) degrees in physics from the Technical University of Denmark.
Since 2007 supervisor of more than 25 Ph.D and Post docs.
Coauthor of more than 130 publications in peer reviewed journals, co-inventor of 5 patents and co-founder of startup companies/ RESEARCH INTEREST includes: electrocatalysis, energy conversion, atomic scale simulations, rational interface design for catalysis.






Dr. Emanuele Instuli
Senior Scientist at Industrie De Nora (2011 – Today) and leader of the Italian group of Basic Research and Scanning division. My background is in electrochemistry with a PhD in Chemical Sciences (2008) at University of Padova and an experience as Research Associate at Imperial College London (2008 - 2011) in nanofabrication for biomedical applications (Nanopore DNA sequencing). Activities in De Nora are mostly dedicated to synthesis of electrocatalysts for the oxygen reduction and evolution reactions, manufacturing of innovative Gas Diffusion Electrodes and Dimensionally Stable Anodes - DSA®.









Dr. Klaas Jan Schouten
Dr. Klaas Jan Schouten obtained his MSc Cum Laude in 2009 from Leiden University. He continued with Prof. Marc Koper for a PhD project on electrochemical CO2 reduction. His thesis has been awarded with the Dutch Catalysis Society Award 2015 and the European Federation of Catalysis Societies (EFCATS) Best PhD Thesis Award 2015. At the moment he is working at Avantium, where he started as a Project Leader of several projects on electrochemistry. As a Program Manager he is now responsible for the content-related management of all projects in Avantium’s electrochemistry research program, which is focused on developing new routes and processes using electrochemistry to produce high value products from CO2 and from feedstocks and products in a bio refinery.